X

People Helping People

First Communion

As Catholics, the Holy Eucharist is the source and summit of our faith. It is the body, blood, soul, and divinit of our Lord and Savior Jesus Christ. Pope Francis calls this a "Sacrament of Love." Children in 2nd grade will make their First Communion during the spring of their 2nd grade year, after they make their First Reconciliation. This is a very beautiful, personal, and intimate Sacrament and a profound way in which the child will united with Jesus in a way that they never have before!

Sacramental Preparation Sessions

Sacramental Preparation is a function of the parish as they are celebrated as a parish community. Preparation involves the participation of the parent and child at weekly Mass, the monthly preparation gatherings, study of the sacramental resources, and the child's attendance in Saint Rita day school or PSR.  Children are expected to have been baptized and completed 1st grade religious education to be eligible for the sacraments. 

2nd Grade Preparation Gatherings for the Sacraments of Reconciliation and Eucharist: For each session: (choose ONE) attend either on Tuesday or Thursday from 6:00pm - 7:00pm in the Church:

Gathering  1
Tuesday, September 13
Thursday, September 15
Gathering 2
Tuesday, October 11
Thursday, October 13
Gathering 3
Tuesday, November 15
Thursday, November 17
Gathering 4
Tuesday, December 6
(1 session this month)
Gathering 5
Tuesday, January 17
Thursday, January 19
First Reconciliation (REQUIRED)
Tuesday, January 24
Thursday, January 26
Gathering 6
Tuesday, February 14
Thursday, February 16
Gathering 7
Tuesday, March 14
Thursday, March 16
Gathering 8
Tuesday, April 18
Thursday, April 20
Journey With Jesus Retreats
Thursday, May 11 - 6:00pm – 8:00pm (PSR)
Tuesday, May 16 - 8:45am – 3:30pm (Saint Rita School)

 

First Communion Practices and Date Options

Communion Practices
Tuesday, May 2 - Large Group First Communion Practice
Thursday, May 4 - Small Group First Communion Practice

Communion Date Options
Saturday, May 6 - 10:00am - Large Group First Communion
Sunday, May 7 - 10:30am and 12:15pm
Saturday, May 13 - 5:00pm
Saturday, May 20 - 5:00pm
Sunday, May 21 - 10:30am and 12:15PM

Parish contact: Fr. Behrend